LaDainian Tomlinson: Hall of Fame Induction > Super Bowl Ring

From Michael David Smith of ProfootballTalk:

“Hall of Fame player without a ring, because you’ve got to sacrifice so much individually just to be good,” Tomlinson said. “They draft you individually and you’ve got to back them up and make them right. I think at the end of the day, even though I didn’t win a Super Bowl ring, I felt like I backed them up for drafting me. I backed up the San Diego Chargers for picking me with the fifth pick.”

Tomlinson is right: Induction in the Hall of Fame is a greater accomplishment than earning a Super Bowl ring. Plenty of bench warmers have rings, but only great players are in the Hall of Fame.

As a fan of Tomlinson’s game, I’ll have to respectfully disagree with both him and Mr. Smith.  While achieving Hall of Fame status is a great individual goal, I would have loved to witness Tomlinson score a Super Bowl victory with the Chargers earlier in the 2000s.  His individual talents would have taken care of the Hall of Fame votes, but adding a Super Bowl win to his already spectacular career would have made his accomplishments all the more honorable.

ProFootBallTalk: Tomlinson would take the Hall of Fame over a Super Bowl ring

Leave a Reply

