Cam Newton: ‘Ace Boogie’ Won’t Let You Down

In a recent interview with KWWN-AM in Las Vegas, Cam Newton was asked if Fantasy Football players make him their #1 Draft Pick for the 2012 season.

His response was … interesting to say the least.

“Hey man, Ace Boogie, man,” he responded. “He ain’t going to let you down, I should tell you that.”

Earlier this offseason, Newton spoke about how disappointed he was in his 2011 season.

“I was very immature,” Newton said when asked about his sometimes moody reaction as losses piled up. “I’ll be the first one to tell you, the pouting and the moping, I kind of overdid it. I know that. I was a bad teammate. I shut off to some people who gave unbelievable effort. … That’s where I have to mature.”

After setting the standard for rookie quarterback play, what will Cam do in his sophomore year to avoid a slump?

“I don’t think I knocked all the critics out, and I’m including myself as one of those critics,” Newton said, six months removed from a season in which he shattered multiple rookie records. “But was it easy? No, we are in the National Football League; nothing in this league is easy.

“We’re talking about a season that was just 6-10,” he went on. “Now that I go back and look at the film, there was things that I was disgusted about, and I feel like could have done a lot better. As we go forth on this whole preparation of the offseason, hopefully I can mend those things and get back on track.”

One area Cam should look to make an improvement in – interceptions. Newton threw 17 picks in his 1st season.  He has already proven himself be a dangerous threat when looking to go deep.  If he can avoid throwing a high number of INTs, Cam can expect to see an increased number of Ws in 2012.

NFL-ATL: Cam Newton vows to be ‘Ace Boogie’ for Panthers

Leave a Reply

